Secondary School

Secondary Principal Howard

Dear Qatar Academy Sidra Community, 

As the principal of Qatar Academy Sidra Secondary School, I am excited to welcome you to our learning community. We are passionate about the educational experiences and opportunities we provide our students. Our international staff are trained to support the academic and social-emotional needs of our students to ensure that all of our learners are successful.  Additionally, our student body comprises an exciting and diverse blend of Qatari and International individuals, which results in a harmonious and culturally rich school. 

 

Overall, we focus on helping our students become lifelong learners through our efforts in and out of school. To begin, Sidra is a full International Baccalaureate school, which means that our secondary students pursue the Middle Years Programme and the Diploma Programme. Because our teachers are passionate about education, we have exceptional MYP and DP results.  Moreover, students at Sidra have the opportunity to pursue a variety of enriching extracurricular experiences in addition to their focus on Service as Action and Creativity, Activity, and Service. At Sidra, students participate in House events, Week Without Walls, Model United Nations, and have access to world class facilities that are part of Qatar Foundation. Through our whole school endeavors, our students gain a sense of global and community awareness, establish a strong MYP and DP background, and develop the skills needed to succeed as future university students. Essentially, we work hard to fulfill the mandate of our vision and mission, which is as follows: We challenge learners of today to inspire them to be the change-makers of tomorrow.  We empower our learners with strong skills and sense of self for a life filled with opportunity and meaning

 

Throughout our website, you will become familiar with our staff and students, the events at our school, the level of community support and involvement our students engage in, and you will gain an appreciation of the overall quality of education our students receive. Of course, if you still have questions or need more information, you are more than welcome to contact the school. 

Again, thank you for your time, and perhaps in the near future I will be able to welcome you in person. 

Dr. Howard Menand

Qatar Academy Sidra

Secondary School Principal

The IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) Grade 6-10

The International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (IB MYP) is designed for students aged 11 to 16. It provides a framework of learning that encourages students to become creative, critical and reflective thinkers.

 

The MYP emphasizes intellectual challenge, encouraging students to make connections between their studies in traditional subjects and the real world. It fosters the development of skills for communication, intercultural understanding and global engagement—essential qualities for young people who are becoming global leaders. 

 

The IB Middle Years Programme builds upon the knowledge, skills, and attitudes developed in the IB Primary Years Programme (IBPYP) and prepares students to meet future academic challenges, including the IB Diploma Programme (IBDP) and the IB Career-related Programme (IBCP).


Why the IB Middle Years Programme?
 
Parents who want the best possible education for their children choose the IB Middle Years Programme because 

  • It provides students with opportunities to develop the knowledge, attitudes, and skills they need in order to manage complexity and take responsible action for the future.
  • Ensures breadth and depth of understanding through study in eight subject groups.
  • Develops multilingualism and understanding of their own cultures and those of others.
  • Empowers students to participate in service within the community
  • to be best prepared for the rigor of the IB Diploma Programme

 

What's unique about The IB Middle Years Programme curriculum? 


The Middle Years Programme is a holistic learning experience where student learning across eight learning areas in addition engaging in service as action and completing a personal project.  Approaches to learning skills are critical in supporting the development of conceptual understandings. The programme empowers students to inquire into a wide range of issues and ideas of significance locally, nationally and globally. The result is young people who are creative, critical and reflective thinkers. Each year, students in the IB Middle Years Programme engage in at least one collaboratively planned interdisciplinary unit that involves at least two subject groups.

IB Middle Year Programme

Personal Project


All students in MYP-5 must complete the personal project. Students work independently, developing a truly personal and creative product or performance. In a structured report, students apply the skills they have developed in the programme and reflect on their personal and academic growth.

QA Sidra Middle Years Programme Curriculum Guide

 

IB Middle Years Programme (IBDP) Grade 11-12

The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP) is a two-year international education programme that prepares students age 16–19 years for success going into, and throughout, university. The IB Diploma Programme offers a holistic approach to teaching and learning with a keen focus on developing intercultural awareness. Students learn to explore and understand the world around them through inquiry, critical thinking and open-mindedness.

Why The IB Diploma Programme?

Parents who want the best possible education for their children choose the IB Diploma Programme because it offers:

  • a challenging academic curriculum that serves as outstanding preparation for university and higher education
  • a student-centred approach to teaching, focused on developing students intellectually, emotionally, physically and socially, as opposed to preparation for test-taking only
  • a focus on international-mindedness, compassion, and understanding intercultural differences
  • respected, reliable and world-renowned academic preparation
  • Universities regularly cite IB Diploma Programme students as the best prepared for higher education
  • IB Diploma Programme graduates excel at university and often begin their studies with advanced standing

 

What's unique about The IB Diploma Programme curriculum?

The IB Diploma Programme students complete courses from six subject groups, ensuring a depth and breadth of knowledge and understanding. By engaging with a range of subjects, they experience a comprehensive education that encourages them to link their learning to form a more useful way to apply what they've learned.

 

IB Diploma Programme

 

The study of an additional language is also required, as well as the completion of a compulsory programme core consisting of three components:

  • Theory of knowledge (TOK) challenges students to reflect on the nature of knowledge and how we know what we claim to know.
  • The Extended essay introduces students to the demands and rewards of independent work prior to entering university, requiring them to produce a self-directed piece of research in an area of personal interest 
  • Creativity, activity and service (CAS) is an experiential learning component where students engage with a wide variety of extracurricular activities, including community service and athletic options.

 

Assessment and examination at the end of IB Diploma Programme courses are a recognized worldwide standard, measuring student understanding and providing a passport to university.

 

University and Beyond the change-makers of tomorrow.

The IB Diploma Programme is uniquely designed to support all students for success going into, and throughout, university. It is offered in many schools across the world, including private, independent, international, and state-funded schools. The IB Diploma Programme graduates are well-equipped to adjust, engage and succeed. They graduate with analytical, writing, communication and presentation skills; research experience; excellent organization and time management; the ability to approach a topic from multiple perspectives; and a deep understanding of academic concepts.

 

QAS DP Curriculum Guide

 

 

IBMYP Certification

In MYP-5 (Grade 10) students are eligible for the IBMYP Certificate.  This certificate is recognized globally as an equivalent qualification for students in Grade 10 (age of 15-16 years old). The IBMYP Certificate requires students to engage in a rigours external assessment process which includes e-Assessment examinations, portfolio submissions and the completion of the Personal Project. 

 

MYP e-Assessment

MYP eAssessment provides external validation of achievement for students in MYP year 5 in the form of an MYP certificate or course results. e-Assessments in the MYP focus on conceptual understanding and the ability to apply knowledge in complex, unfamiliar situations. They offer a robust and reliable assessment of student achievement in the MYP.
Two-hour examinations in four subject groups (language and literature, sciences, mathematics, individuals and societies) and in interdisciplinary learning are individually marked by IB examiners.
Portfolios of student work for four subject groups (language acquisition, physical and health education, arts, and design) are moderated by IB examiners to international standards.

 

Personal Project

All students in MYP Year 5 must complete the personal project. Students work independently, developing a truly personal and creative product or performance. In a structured report, students apply the skills they have developed in the programme and reflect on their personal and academic growth.

 

Grade 12 Certifications

Qatar Academy Sidra (QA Sidra) prides itself on mentoring students to reach their full potential through individualized attention tailored to their skills, interests, and aspirations. Faculty members are dedicated to students’ well-being and academic success and take the time to guide and support them as they make key decisions that impact their futures. Wherever their individual pathways to success may take them, QA Sidra endeavors to help students identify, develop and realize their goals.
 
There are different qualification pathways that students may pursue.  All of these pathways lead to High School graduation and are accepted by different universities and colleges here in Qatar and globally.  All of these pathways have the potential to meet Qatar Ministry of Education requirements for equivalency recognition.
 
Determination of which pathway is right for each student can be made on the results of the MYP programme at the conclusion of MYP-5. This depends on the academic results of the students and is based on approaches to learning, teacher recommendation, student interview, student interests, and parental input.
 
Students may complete the IB Diploma Programme with one of the following outcomes

  • IB Diploma 
  • IB Bilingual Diploma
  • IB Diploma Certificate for one or more selected IB Diploma courses
  • QA Sidra High School Diploma
  • Qatar Ministry of Education equivalency recognition

 

All qualification pathways provide students with the opportunity to gain a QA Sidra High School Diploma in conjunction with the IB Diploma Certification.

Secondary School

 

أعزائي مجتمع السدرة،

بصفتي مديرًا لمدرسة أكاديمية قطر - السدرة الثانوية ، يسعدني أن أرحب بكم في مجتمعنا التعليمي. نحن متحمسون لما نقدمه من التجارب وفرص تعليمية لطلابنا. حيث يتم تدريب موظفينا على دعم الاحتياجات الأكاديمية والاجتماعية العاطفية لضمان نجاح جميع المتعلمين لدينا. إضافة إلى ذلك فإن الهيكل الطلابي  يتألف من مزيج متنوع من الأفراد القطريين والدوليين ، مما ينتج عنه مدرسة متناغمة وغنية ثقافيًا.

بشكل عام ، نركز على مساعدة طلابنا ليصبحوا متعلمين  من خلال جهودنا داخل وخارج المدرسة، إن السدرة هي مدرسة البكالوريا الدولية كاملة ، مما يعني أن طلاب الثانوي يتابعون برنامج السنوات المتوسطة وبرنامج الدبلوما. نظرًا لأن مدرسينا متحمسون للتعليم ، فلدينا نتائج استثنائية في برنامج MYP و DP. علاوة على ذلك ، يتمتع الطلاب في مركز السدرة بفرصة متابعة مجموعة متنوعة من الخبرات اللامنهجية المثرية بالإضافة إلى تركيزهم على الخدمة كعمل ونشاط وإبداع. في مدرسة السدرة ، يشارك الطلاب  فعاليات ، أسبوع بلا جدران ، نموذج الأمم المتحدة ، ويمكنهم الوصول إلى مرافق عالمية المستوى تشكل جزءًا من مؤسسة قطر. من خلال مساعينا المدرسية بأكملها ، يكتسب طلابنا إحساسًا بالوعي العلمي والمجتمعي ، ويؤسسون خلفية قوية في برنامج السنوات المتوسطة (MYP) وبرنامج التنمية (DP) ، ويطورون المهارات اللازمة للنجاح كطلاب جامعيين في المستقبل. بشكل أساسي ، نحن نعمل بجد للوفاء برسالتنا وهي كما يلي: نتحدى المتعلمين اليوم لإلهامهم ليكونوا صانعي التغيير في الغد. نقوم بتمكين المتعلمين لدينا بمهارات قوية وإحساس بالذات لحياة مليئة بالفرص .

من خلال موقعنا الإلكتروني ، ستصبح على علم بموظفينا وطلابنا ، وما يتم من أحداث في مدرستنا ، ومستوى الدعم المجتمعي والمشاركة التي يقوم بها الطلاب، وستحصل على تقدير لجودة التعليم. إذا كانت لديك أسئلة أو تحتاج إلى مزيد من المعلومات ، فنحن جاهزون للإجابة عنها.

نشكركم مرة أخرى على وقتكم وإنني على أمل الترحيب بكم بشكل شخصي مستقبلا .

 

د/ هاوود ميناند

أكاديمية قطر السدرة 

مدير أكاديمية قطر السدرة الثانوية 

 

برنامج البكالوريا الدولية للسنوات المتوسطة الصف 6-10

صمم برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للبكالوريا الدولية للطلاب من سن 11 إلى 16 سنة. ويوفر إطار عمل تعليمي يشجع الطلاب ليكونوا مفكرين مبدعين ناقدين متأملين.

ويركز برنامج السنوات المتوسطة على بث روح التحدي الفكري وتشجيع الطلاب على الربط بين دراساتهم في المواد التقليدية وبين العالم الحقيقي من حولهم. ويعزز البرنامج تنمية مهارات التواصل والتفاهم بين الثقافات والمشاركة الدولية وهي صفات أساسية لا غنى عنها للشباب الطامحين في أن يكونوا قادة دوليين.

ويبني برنامج السنوات المتوسطة على المعرفة والمهارات والسلوكيات المكتسبة في برنامج السنوات الابتدائية ويعدّ الطلاب لمواجهة المزيد من التحديات الأكاديمية ومن بينها برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية والبرنامج المهني في البكالوريا الدولية.

ما الذي يميز برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للبكالوريا الدولية؟(

يختار الآباء الحريصون على حصول أبنائهم على أفضل تعليم ممكن برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للبكالوريا الدولية للأسباب التالية:

●      يقدم البرنامج للطلاب فرص تطوير معارفهم وسلوكياتهم ومهاراتهم التي يحتاجون إليها للتعامل مع المواقف المعقدة واتخاذ إجراء مسؤول حيال المستقبل.

●      يضمن لهم اتساع أفقهم واستيعابهم من خلال الدراسة في مجموعات مؤلفة من ثماني مواد دراسية.

●      اكتساب أكثر من لغة واستيعاب ثقافتهم وكذلك ثقافة الآخرين.

●      تمكين الطلاب من المشاركة في الخدمة المجتمعية.

●      الإعداد الجيد لمواجهة الصعوبة التي ينطوي عليها برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية

 

ما المميز في المنهج الدراسي لبرنامج السنوات المتوسطة في البكالوريا الدولية؟ 

يعد برنامج السنوات المتوسطة تجربة تعليمية شاملة يدرس فيها الطلاب ثمانية مجالات تعليمية علاوة على المشاركة في الخدمة المجتمعية وإكمال مشروع شخصي. وتعد طرق تعلم المهارات من الأهمية البالغة بمكان في دعم اكتساب مهارات الاستيعاب المفاهيمي. ويتيح البرنامج للطلاب البحث والاستقصاء في مجموعة متنوعة من القضايا والأفكار التي تحظى بأهمية محلية وإقليمية ودولية. ونتيجة لهذا البرنامج يتخرج شباب يتحلى بالقدرة على التفكير الإبداعي النقدي والتأملي. وفي كل عام يشارك طلاب برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للبكالوريا الدولية في مقرر دراسي متعدد التخصصات يتم إعداده وتخطيطه بصورة جماعية ولا تقل مجموعات المواد الدراسية فيه عن مجموعتين.

 

المشروع الشخصي

يُطلب من جميع طلاب الصف الخامس في برنامج السنوات المتوسطة إنجاز مشروع شخصي. ويعمل الطلاب بشكل مستقل ويعدون عملاً إبداعيًا من إنتاجهم الشخصي. ومن خلال تقرير مهيكل يطبق الطلاب المهارات التي اكتسبوها في البرنامج ويتأملون في مستوى التقدم الأكاديمي والشخصي الذي أحرزوه.

 

 
IB Middle Year Programme

 

 

QA Sidra Middle Years Programme Curriculum Guide

برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للبكالوريا الدولية – الصفّان الحادي عشر والثاني عشر

IB Diploma Programme

 

برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية هو برنامج تعليمي دولي لمدة عامين يعد الطلاب البالغين من العمر 16-19 سنة للتأهل للالتحاق بالجامعة وإحراز النجاح في الدراسة الجامعية. ويقدم هذا البرنامج منهجًا شاملاً في التعليم والتعلم مع التركيز بشكل خاص على تطوير الوعي متعدد الثقافات. ويتعلم الطلاب استكشاف العالم من حولهم واستيعابه من خلال البحث والاستقصاء والتفكير النقدي والعقلية المتفتحة.

 

ما الذي يميز برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية؟

يختار الآباء الحريصون على حصول أبنائهم على أفضل تعليم ممكن برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية للأسباب التالية:

 

●      يقدم البرنامج منهجًا أكاديميًا مثيرًا قادرًا على إعداد الطلاب للالتحاق بالجامعة والتعليم العالي.

●      يسير البرنامج وفق منهج يركز على الطلاب في التعليم ويسعى بشكل خاص إلى تطوير الطلاب من الناحية الفكرية والوجدانية والبدنية والاجتماعية، لا مجرد الإعداد لاجتياز الاختبارات وحسب.

●      يركز على إكساب الطلاب عقلية دولية منفتحة على العالم أجمع فضلاً عن التعاطف وفهم الاختلاف بين الثقافات

●      يعد الطلاب من الناحية الأكاديمية إعدادًا مرموقًا يحظى باحترام العالم

●      دائمًا ما تشيد الجامعات بطلاب برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية من حيث الإعداد الجيد للتعليم العالي

●      يتفوق خريجو برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية في الجامعة ودائمًا ما يبدؤون دراستهم بتميز واضح ومستوى متقدم.

ما المميز في المنهج الدراسي لبرنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية

يدرس طلاب برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية مقررات في ست مجموعات للمواد الدراسية بما يضمن عمق المعرفة وتشعبها واتساع أفقهم واستيعابهم. ومن خلال دراسة هذه المواد يحظون بتجربة تعليمية شاملة تشجعهم على الربط بين ما تعلموه بطريقة أكثر فائدة تكفل لهم تطبيقه على أرض الواقع.

كما أن دراسة لغة إضافية واحدة من متطلبات البرنامج علاوة على اجتياز مقرر أساسي إجباري يتألف من ثلاثة عناصر:

●      نظرية المعرفة التي تثير في نفوس الطلاب التحدي ليتدبروا في طبيعة المعرفة وما نعرفه حقًا وما ندعي معرفته.

●      مقال موسع يتعرف فيه الطلاب على متطلبات العمل المستقل ومزاياه قبل الالتحاق بالجامعة ويطلب منهم إعداد بحث من اختيارهم في واحد من المجالات التي تحظى باهتمامهم.

●      الإبداع والنشاط والخدمة تمثل مكونًا تجريبيًا من مكونات التعليم ينخرط من خلاله الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة التكميلية الخارجة عن المناهج الدراسية تشمل الخدمة المجتمعية والخيارات الرياضية.

كذلك فإن التقييم والاختبار في ختام المقررات الدراسية لبرنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية هو مقياس عالمي معتمد يقيس مستوى فهم الطلاب علاوة على كونه جواز سفر للالتحاق بالجامعة.

 

الجامعة وما بعدها – صناع التغيير في الغد  -

صُمم برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية بشكل فريد ليدعم كل الطلاب في الالتحاق بالجامعة وإحراز النجاح فيها. ويُقدّم هذا البرنامج في العديد من المدارس حول العالم، ومنها مدارس خاصة ومستقلة ودولية وأخرى ممولة من جانب الدولة. ويتميز خريجو دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية بالاستعداد الجيد للتكيف والمشاركة والنجاح. ويتخرجون وقد اكتسبوا مهارات تحليلية علاوة على مهارات الكتابة والتواصل والعرض التقديمي، فضلاً عن الخبرة البحثية والتنظيم الممتاز وإدارة الوقت والقدرة على تناول الموضوع من مختلف وجهات النظر والفهم العميق للمفاهيم الأكاديمية.

 

 دليل المنهج الدراسي لبرنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية بأكاديمية قطر - السدرة

 

 

QA Sidra IB Diploma Programme Curriculum Guide

 
 

شهادة برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للبكالوريا الدولية

يتأهل طلاب الصف الخامس في برنامج السنوات المتوسطة للحصول على شهادة البرنامج، وهي شهادة معتمدة دوليًا ومعادلة لطلاب الصف العاشر (البالغين من العمر 15-16 سنة). وللحصول على هذه الشهادة لا بد للطالب من اجتياز تقييم خارجي قوي يتضمن اختبارات تقييمية وتقديم حافظة بعمل الطلاب علاوة على إنجاز المشروع الشخصي.

التقييم الإلكتروني لبرنامج السنوات المتوسطة

يقدم التقييم الإلكتروني لبرنامج السنوات المتوسطة تصديقًا خارجيًا للإنجاز الطلابي لطلاب الصف الخامس لهذا البرنامج في صورة شهادة أو نتائج للمقررات الدراسية. ويركز التقييم الإلكتروني في برنامج السنوات المتوسطة على الاستيعاب المفاهيمي وتطبيق المعرفة في مواقف معقدة غير معهودة. كما يقدم تقييمًا معتمدًا وقويًا للإنجاز الذي حققه الطلاب في هذا البرنامج.

●      اختبارات لمدة ساعتين في أربع مجموعات من المواد الدراسية (اللغة، والأدب، والعلوم، والرياضيات، والأفراد والمجتمعات) وفي التعلم متعدد التخصصات، ويتولى تقييم هذه الاختبارات ممتحنين من البكالوريا الدولية.

●      حقيبة بأعمال الطلاب في المجموعات الأربعة للمواد الدراسية (اكتساب اللغة، التربية البدنية والصحية، الفنون، التصميم) تحت إشراف ممتحنين من البكالوريا الدولية وفق المعايير العالمية.

 

 

 

المشروع الشخصي

يُطلب من جميع طلاب الصف الخامس في برنامج السنوات المتوسطة إنجاز مشروع شخصي. ويعمل الطلاب بشكل مستقل ويعدون عملاً إبداعيًا من إنتاجهم الشخصي. ومن خلال تقرير مهيكل يطبق الطلاب المهارات التي اكتسبوها في البرنامج ويتأملون في مستوى التقدم الأكاديمي والشخصي الذي أحرزوه.

شهادات الصف الثاني عشر

تعتزّ أكاديمية قطر - السدرة بتوجيه الطلاب وإرشادهم لإطلاق العنان لقدراتهم عبر عناية فردية مخصصة تناسب مهاراتهم واهتماماتهم وطموحاتهم. ويكرس أعضاء هيئة التدريس جهودهم لتحقيق مصلحة الطلاب وإحراز النجاح الأكاديمي ولا يدّخرون وقتًا في توجيههم ودعمهم عند اتخاذ القرارات المصيرية التي تحدد مستقبلهم. وأينما سار بهم الطريق الذي يسلكه كل منهم لإحراز النجاح، فإن أكاديمية قطر - السدرة تسعى لمساعدة الطلاب في تحديد أهدافهم وتطويرها وتحقيقها.

وهناك مسارات تأهيل مختلفة يمكن أن يسلكها الطلاب وجميعها تؤدي إلى التخرج في الثانوية العامة والالتحاق بالجامعات والكليات المختلفة في قطر وحول العالم. وجميع هذه المسارات لديها ما يؤهلها لتلبية متطلبات المعادلة والاعتماد من جانب وزارة التعليم القطرية.

ويتوقف تحديد المسار المناسب لكل طالب على نتائج برنامج السنوات المتوسطة في نهاية الصف الخامس، ويعتمد هذا على النتائج الأكاديمية للطلاب وطرق التعلم المختلفة وتوصيات المعلمين والمقابلات الشخصية مع الطلاب واهتماماتهم وآراء الآباء.

ويمكن للطلاب إتمام برنامج دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية بنتيجة من النتائج التالية

●      دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية

●      دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية ثنائي اللغة

●      شهادة دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية لمقرر أو أكثر من مقررات الدبلوم المحددة

●      دبلوم الثانوية العامة من أكاديمية قطر - السدرة

●      معادلة وزارة التعليم القطرية

وتوفر جميع مسارات التأهيل للطلاب فرصة الحصول على دبلوم الثانوية العامة من أكاديمية قطر - السدرة بالاشتراك مع شهادة دبلوم البكالوريا الدولية.